The East Of England

The United Kingdom is split into three levels of Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics, or NUTS. Initially those levels are as follows:

  • LEVEL 1: Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and the nine statistical regions of England
  • LEVEL 2: Northern Ireland, counties in England, districts of Greater London, unitary authorities of Wales and groups of council areas within Scotland
  • LEVEL 3: Counties, unitary authorities or districts of England, unitary authorities of Wales, council areas of Scotland and districts of Northern Ireland

You may well have spotted that LEVEL 1 mentions nine statistical regions of England. They are broken down as follows:

  • The South East
  • London
  • The North West
  • The East Of England
  • The West Midlands
  • The South West
  • Yorkshire and the Humber
  • The East Midlands
  • The North East

What Is The East Of England?

So, now that we know that the East of England is one of the nine statistical regions of England as outlined by the NUTS levels, what parts of the country actually fall under the bracket of the East of England?

Well, first of all the region breaks down into two further NUTS, starting with the NUTS 2 areas of East Anglia, Bedfordshire & Hertfordshire and Essex. Obviously this strangely convoluted system wouldn’t feel right unless it was broken down further, so NUTS LEVEL 3 works as follows:

East Anglia

  • Peterborough
  • Cambridgeshire (Ceremonial County)
  • Norfolk
  • Suffolk

Bedfordshire & Hertfordshire

  • Luton
  • Hertfordshire (Ceremonial County)
  • Bedford
  • Central Bedfordshire


  • Southend-on-Sea
  • Thurrock
  • Essex (Ceremonial County)

Perhaps somewhat unsurprisingly, the Ceremonial Counties are then broken down even further into numerous districts, as are Norfolk and Suffolk. The breakdown for each area is as follows:


  • Harlow
  • Epping Forest
  • Brentwood
  • Basildon
  • Castle Point
  • Rochford
  • Maldon
  • Chelmsford
  • Uttlesford
  • Braintree
  • Colchester
  • Tendring


  • Three Rivers
  • Watford
  • Hertsmere
  • Welwyn Hatfield
  • Broxbourne
  • East Hertfordshire
  • Stevenage
  • North Hertfordshire
  • St Albans
  • Dacorum


  • Cambridge
  • South Cambridgeshire
  • Huntingdonshire
  • Fenland
  • East Cambridgeshire


  • Norwich
  • South Norfolk
  • Great Yarmouth
  • Broadland
  • North Norfolk
  • Breckland
  • King’s Lynn and West Norfolk


  • Ipswich
  • Suffolk Coastal
  • Waveney
  • Mid Suffolk
  • Babergh
  • St. Edmundsbury
  • Forest Heath